Board of Trustees

  • The Sulphur Springs Union School District Governing Board held its Annual Organizational Meeting on December 12th. The Governing Board officers for 2019 were elected, and they are as follows:

  • Shelley WeinsteinImagePresident

    Trustee Area No. 1

     Mrs. Weinstein has served on the Board of Trustees since 2003.  She is an Executive Board member and past president of the SCV School Trustees Association and served for five years as a Director on the Executive Board of the LA County School Trustees Association.  Prior to being on the school board Mrs. Weinstein served on a variety of district committees and was an active PTA board member. She was honored to receive the PTA Honorary Service and Golden Oak Awards, the ACSA Golden Apple award, as well as being named a “Champion of Children” by the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation.  Mrs. Weinstein and her husband Steve have three children, who all attended Sulphur Springs School.  Mrs. Weinstein works at College of the Canyons.

  •  Ken Chase Image Clerk

    Trustee Area No. 4

    Mr. Chase is a Certified Management Accountant. He is the Corporate Controller for Pak Group in Pasadena. Mr. Chase has been active with the Sulphur Springs School District since 2004 having served on school site councils and various committees. He was chairperson of the Measure CK Bond Oversight Committee. He and his wife, Debby, have lived in Newhall since 1992. Their two daughters attended Valley View and Golden Oak Community schools. In support of his daughter, who has Type 1 diabetes, his family is very active in volunteering and supporting the JDRF (Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation). Mr. Chase is honored to have been named the Los Angeles Chapter’s volunteer of the year. He was elected to the Sulphur Springs Union School Board of Trustees in 2013.   

  • Lori MacDonald Image

    Board Member

    Trustee Area No. 5

     Mrs. MacDonald and her husband have been happily married since 2000. They have three children; two that attend Leona Cox Community School and their oldest who graduated from Leona Cox, Sierra Vista, and Canyon. Her family moved to Canyon Country in 2002. Mrs. MacDonald began teaching for LAUSD in 1999 as a middle school physical education teacher and she has also taught health/science as well as a technology elective, robotics. In 2012, Mrs. MacDonald earned her Master's degree in Administrative Educational Services from CSUN. She has served as a School Site Council member at Leona Cox and she is active in the PTA. Mrs. MacDonald assisted in the passing of Measure CK in 2012 to get funding for needed repairs, construction, and technology updates in the Sulphur Springs schools. She is locally active in youth sports as a coach as well as a referee. Mrs. MacDonald has been honored to serve on the Sulphur Springs Union School Board since 2012.  

  • Denis DeFigueiredoImage Board Member

    Trustee Area No. 2

     Mr. DeFigueiredo and his family have been residents of Canyon Country since 1991 and is an Information Technology Professional. He and his wife Sharon have three children all of whom attended Mitchell Elementary School. Mr. DeFigueiredo has served on School Site Councils at Mitchell Elementary and Sierra Vista Junior High, as well as having served on district committees in the Hart District. His involvement in the community and schools, including youth sports, music, and Scouting, has been recognized by the PTA with an Honorary Service Award and by Boy Scouts of America with a District Award of Merit.

    "Education is a series of partnerships between parents, students, teachers, and administrators. The goal of those partnerships must be to provide an educational environment where each child realizes his or her highest potential by consistently recognizing and doing what's best for kids."